Queuing Options, Ferry Budget, E-ticketing: LIFAC Meeting Monday, June 18

The County Council has asked the Lummi Island Ferry Advisory Committee (LIFAC) to given them citizen feedback about the several options for the new ‘queuing’ approach at Gooseberry Pt, by Council’s June 19 (this Tuesday) meeting.  Drawings of the five scenarios were placed at the Library and Islander about 10 days ago  (no electronic versions).  The queuing issue is one of several topics LIFAC will consider tomorrow night, so anyone with input should attend or get them written comments before their meeting starts at 6:30 PM.  Comments by the ferry crew of the various options will be presented.

Other issues also will be discussed, as noted in LIFAC’s final agenda for tomorrow night’s meeting (see below and a previous post with the meeeting format). One item is a request for information (RFI- E-ticketing and Payment Processing)  that LIFAC’s Josh Zender wrote (per  the previous meeting), which was sent out about a week ago to quite a few companies. This is a clear, very professionally written proposal (thanks, Josh) that may help move forward toward electronic ticketing. 

The proposed Ferry budget for this FYI 2012-20132 year is to be discussed as well. That proposal has not been made available yet to the public, so the only way to learn more about it will be to attend tomorrow night’s LIFAC meeting, or wait for their minutes to come out.



WHEN: Monday, June 18, 6:30 p.m.
WHERE: Lummi Island Fire Hall, 3809 Legoe Bay Road (left off the ferry on N. Nugent, to the corner right turn onto Legoe Bay Rd, 360.758.2411


The 7-person Lummi Island Ferry Advisory Committee (LIFAC) appointed May 8 by Whatcom County Council will hold its third meeting Monday, June 8, 2012. The agenda includes topics of the Public Works proposed 2013 budget; security and requeueing project at Gooseberry Point, featuring input from ferry captain Mark Richardson and other ferry crew; and a report on RFIs (requests for information) re: electronic payment for ticketing. A public comment period is scheduled, with a 3-minute allowance for comments. The committee requests that individuals intending to speak during public comments please submit the comments in writing for a compilation of public records.

Thank you.
THE COMMITTEE (alphabetically):
Charles Antholt, Lummi Island
Gregory Brown, Bellingham, Secretary
Robert Busch, Lummi Island
Stu Clark, Lummi Island, Vice-Chairman
Crispin Colburn, Bellingham
Michael McKenzie, Lummi Island. Chairman
Joshua Zender, Bellingham, Treasurer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s